Creating New Business Cards

One of my favorite hobbies is playing around with graphic design in Photoshop and Illustrator. I am totally self taught and dabble in a totally amateur arena. This dabbling has gotten me some paying jobs though and I am now able to create posters to sell, re-vamp blogs, Facebook timeline headers and so much more. One of my biggest challenges is trying to define what it is I exactly do when people ask… what job is the most important, what do I put on business cards and resumes?

Of course I am a mother first and foremost, but most employers don’t care about that. I am a dance teacher, an Etsy artist, a writer, a teacher, the list goes on and on. I needed a new business card that would allow people to connect with me without boxing me into just one job or skill set and here is what I came up with….

There are so many decisions that go into making a business card design- the overall content and feet, colors, photo or no photo, fonts, layout…. it is mind boggling! With all the creativity floating around it is hard to keep up with what is new and trendy. I prefer traditional cards that are bright, fun, and convey “me”.  I didn’t know which way I wanted to go so I just started creating and ended up with the designs you see here. I don’t have a brand or logo really set because my store doesn’t dominate my blog or vice versa… I just do what I do for fun!

So what do you think? If you don’t work in a traditional job that required business cards do you still have any? And most importantly, what design do you like from the above?! =)

2 thoughts on “Creating New Business Cards

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

