What It Would Take

I belong to a couple different groups on Facebook that I joined because I wanted to become informed. I wanted credible sources, first hand accounts, a place to go when I had a specific question. One of these group is called Proud Parents of Unvaccinated Children.

(Now, before you jump on me and the hating comments begin, just pause the judgement and continue reading. =) Thank you.)

I consider myself a pretty level headed person who doesn’t make rash decisions just because everyone else is doing something, especially when it comes to my children. Before Moira came along, when I still thought that all doctors had our best interests at heart, I just did what the pediatrician said and never thought to question. Gabby had all her vaccinations from birth on as did AJ. I had no cause to think otherwise. Then the whole VBAC drama with Moira started and I began to question the whole medical system. I asked questions, I researched, I looked at studies and who funded those studies, and I listened to other mothers who went through what I was going through. I learned that not every doctor has our best interests at heart and that sometimes money speaks louder than common sense.

A great read if you want more information about vaccines, the diseases they protect against, and the risks involved with getting the vaccine.

 

One of the hardest decisions that a parent has to make today is concerning vaccines. Books like Dr. Sears’ “The Vaccine Book” suggests an alternate schedule that allows for a more spread out approach while the CDC and AAP stress that vaccines are totally safe, vital to a child’s health, and are no cause for alarm. The decision to vaccinate has to be made before birth because in the hospital most babies get a Hepatitis B vaccine, something that more and more parents are opting out of. (Unless the mother has Hep B or the baby is going to be working the corner, Hep B is not something to worry at birth!) It is really hard to know what resources are credible, where the funding for the studies comes from, and which way to go though.

We knew that there was no way that we were going to get Moira the Hep B vaccine and have never looked back from that moment on. Since that first decision we have gotten more comfortable reading studies, articles, books, and so much on our quest to become educated about vaccines and the benefits/dangers they possess.

A couple of days ago I read an article written by a doctor who wanted to know what she could do to assure parents that vaccines were safe. This is a very personal question and depends on what each family has experience in the past with vaccines. So I am going to share what makes me uncomfortable with them and what it would take for me to consider vaccinating again.

1.  Hold the vaccine industry accountable for their product. This is one of the top issues for me because if you are making a product that is going to the ENTIRE population and are protected by the government, what is the driving force for quality and safety? No one would buy a car that doesn’t have a warranty, why would you inject something into your body that could possibly be a “bad batch” and have no way to hold the company accountable??

2. Do not allow doctors kick-backs for fully vaccinated their patients. If my doctor is getting thousands of dollars for making sure everyone has their vaccinations, is he really going to look closely at reactions, properly report them, and question their safety? No. He is going to explain the reactions and events away.  Less than 10% of vaccine reactions are reported to VAERS, making it very difficult to track serious problems with vaccines.

3.  Eliminate dangerous preservatives and ingredients from the vaccine. Pretty self explanatory. And yes, I realize that in each vaccine the amount of the dangerous chemical is considered “safe”, however, think about the sheer amount of vaccines kids are supposed to get these days and the “trace” amounts quickly add up. ( You can read more about this here)

4. Evaluate adverse reactions following routine vaccinations, including high fever, swollen limbs, brain dysfunction, seizures, and other incidents that are often dismissed as coincidence.

5. Do not administer vaccines of any kind to children without parental consent. When states pass laws that allow children as young as 12 to make medical decisions without parental knowledge or consent, I have a problem with it. What if that child has a reaction? Who will know why it is happening and who is going to be accountable for permanent injury or death?

6. Medical professionals need to acknowledge natural sources of immunity instead of adding more and more chemicals into children. By dismissing these cheaper natural solutions I am not as receptive to vaccine recommendations. For instance, it is common knowledge in holistic and chiropractic medicine that Vitamin D is more effective at preventing the flu, however I have never heard a doctor recommend that over a flu shot (which may or may not work against the many strains of the flu). I am much more willing to work with a doctor who first turns to natural immunity boosters before suggesting man-made chemicals.

7. Medical professionals admit that there are some risks associated with vaccines. This one is a big one for me as well because it opens the door for a rational, realistic conversation.

(Of course there are other factors that would cause us to reconsider our current position– traveling overseas, serious and true epidemic of a deadly disease (Chickenpox is not one of these diseases), or a medical condition which would cause a normally treatable illness to become deadly.)

This is a movie that discuses the whole vaccine debate in a scientific, rational matter… it is a great starting point!

Many people incorrectly assume that people who choose not to vaccinate their kids are lazy, dumb, conspiracy obsessed parents who are infecting everyone with diseases. I can’t stress how this is false. If anything, I have my children’s health at heart. I do not listen to celebrity’s or mommy bloggers but doctors, nurses, and scientists who see that there is something truly wrong with the current vaccines and the vaccine schedule we are imposing on our nation’s children.

So there ya have it… that is what it would take for me to reconsider vaccinations!

*If you want more information or want to see where I get a lot of my starting points, check out The International Medical Council on Vaccines or The National Vaccine Information Center **

2 thoughts on “What It Would Take

  1. Reblogged this on Audacious Educationist and commented:
    This is an issue that troubled me since the first time I had to make a descision about vaccinations over 16 years ago. Thankfully, my children have always seen pediatricians who took the time to explain the risks and benefits face to face and they also provided literature to help me make my decision. I was aware that certain genetic risk factors may make it not in my child’s best interest to get all shots. Fortunately, to my knowledge those genetic markers weren’t part of our family’s medical history and I knew my children wouldn’t later be admitted to public school without them, so I signed the papers for all of the vaccines they were supposed to have. Yet, I still wonder if the attention deficit disorder and something that seems like aspergers syndrome may be in some way related to those vaccines. I also wonder about all the students I have taught over the years who have had ADD or found themselves somewhere on the autism spectrum. Sometimes we sit in an RtI (Response to Intevention) meeting, speculating about the source of the many exceptionalities we see. It can’t ALL be bad parenting or bad teaching…so what if some of it is bad medicine? I don’t know enough to take a side on this issue, but I do believe it is worth thinking about. What research have any of you read about the effects of vaccines on children’s neurological health?

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, it means a lot to me. In my research I have been looking at the blood-brain barrier which is a thin membrane that protects most substances from entering the brain. Most current studies agree that this is not developed until the age of about 6 weeks, although there is a current study going on that suggests otherwise. (Although who is funding that study is yet to be announced and would impact my conclusions about the findings) That being said, all the vaccines that babies get in those first precious weeks are then able to cross into the brain, including those ingredients that are not safe such as aluminum, formaldehyde, and mercury.

      Studies show that in lab rats the chemical Thimerosal, which is still used in some vaccines, alters the neurons and is can cause an analogous change in the brains chemistry, which may be the cause of the neurological disorders we are seeing in kids today, although this may not be the only ingredient that is the culprit.

      Most states do allow unvaccinated kids to attend public school with a signed exemption form, Ohio allows for philosophical reasons along with religious and medical. Schools do not offer this option though so most parents who want to not vaccinate are unaware.

      My own thoughts on aspergers and such with vaccines is that while I don’t think vaccines directly cause autism they do cause a reaction which triggers the symptoms and conditions. Children who get high fevers (something which doctors and nurses are not concerned with and rarely report to VAERS) or have serious reactions like seizures seem to be the ones who suddenly develop aspergers or autism.

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

