Glambition

Well, I survived my first recital week with Dancexcel. It was one of the most intense, physically demanding, emotional, and enjoyable weeks I ever had. There were times when I was smiling so big that my cheeks hurt and other moments that I was sure I was going to throw up from the stress. Our job was to put on a recital that ran smooth, kept the safety of our students in mind at all times, and was fun to watch and I know that we did that- something that not every dance studio can do.

After working at studios that are disorganized I appreciate a well thought out recital. Most of the parents didn’t know that we start thinking about songs and costumes well before Christmas and have our dances choreographed before returning from Christmas break. Every detail is ironed out, spelled out, and conveyed many times over to our parents so there is no confusion about what is going on or expected.

I loved watching all of my little girls smiling for their parents in their costumes, seeing a year’s worth of hard work come out on stage, and feeling so proud of a job well done. Of course there will little bits that they forgot and things that they did, like stopping in the middle of the dance to take a solo bow!, that weren’t choreographed in, but the audience ate it up. Nothing cuter than 3 and 4 year-olds in tutus!

And then of course, I also danced in the shows with the other teachers! Oh yes, after years of just teaching I got up there and danced… it was a lot of fun and I can’t wait to do it again next year.

I love working at this studio so much that I am going to enroll AJ in a Kinder class for fall (not with me) so she can dance in the recital as well. She has been asking to take dance again and now that I know all of the teachers I am fully confident that no matter who she takes class with she will learn a lot and be thrilled. It is an amazing thing to be able to share this art with my girls and I am so very excited to get teaching again for the summer!

Anyone in the greater Cleveland area who is looking for a dance studio for their kids, Dancexcel is the place to go. All of us teachers work great together, we strive to make sure every child learns a lot but is having fun as well, and the studio itself is so pretty, clean, and well run. You can find more information about it here, be sure to click around and watch the ad for our new Angelina Ballerina classes!

Now to recover from the recital and get my house back in order!!!

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

