In A Funk

Today I’m just in a funk. I had some wicked bad dreams last night, usually I don’t dream at all, and the weather isn’t helping matters- cold and drizzly for the next 5 days! I should be downright chipper, considering the baby, Klint and I slept in until almost 10:30am and I had donuts from the amazing Jack Frost. I made chicken noodle soup with little star noodles… I’m just cranky still. Very un- Connie-like.

I know some of it has to do with some left over emotions from the trauma of a few weeks ago. I’m pretty sure I have some PTSD going on… but right now there is nothing I can do about it all. I just have to do what I do and soldier on. Sometimes it sucks being the mom- you can’t wallow in bed or even have a good cry. You just have to put on a brave face and deal with it. I’m pretty good at dealing though so I know I will be ok.

I read a really good thought yesterday and I’m trying to keep it in mind as I go about my day-

“Here’s a little paradigm shift for you to practice on. Perhaps happiness shouldn’t be the primary goal. Try joy. Try the idea that it might be enJOYable to cook, to set the table, to see your family, rather than the idea that you’ll be happy after dinner’s done and cleaned up. My guess is that such happiness might last a couple of seconds before you look around and see something else between you and happiness. Joy, though, can be ongoing, and can be felt before, during and after the meeting of goals.”

It’s that a great thought?! Definitely something that I can do. (You can read the whole thought here)

So that is where I am at for the day… here’s hoping tomorrow I feel back to normal and all is well wherever you are!

Looking up from here!
One thought on “In A Funk

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you’re struggling right now. I hope today is better and that things keep looking up.

    I’m not sure what your situation is, but sometimes when I feel like things have really gone off the rails, I take a moment and ask myself when it’s not going to be such a big deal. Will it be okay in 3 days? 3 weeks? 3 months? 3 years? Framing the situation as a smaller part of my bigger life can help me find perspective when my problems seem insurmountable, and it can lift my spirits a little to realize that what’s crushing me right now won’t always have that same weight.

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

