In Light

I had a pretty post set to go yesterday, full of Christmas gift ideas and cheer. But I couldn’t let it post in light of the tragedy in Connecticut that happened. Today 26 families will be faced with empty beds, empty arms, and broken hearts. It is hard, especially for this mama, to remember that even in those moments of unspeakable horror there were also incredible acts of courage. Teachers who protected their students and some who paid for that courage with their lives. A school janitor who alerted everyone to hide, the person who turned on the speaker so the rest of the school would know what was going on, even young children who shielded their friends from harm.

My facebook feed is full of people rallying for gun policies to change, mental health services to improve, and so on. I don’t think any one thing could have prevented this from happening and surely the school was as prepared as it felt it should have been at the time. This is a hard subject for me because my life has been touched firsthand by gun violence- I witnessed my stepfather being shot in front of me through our picture window when I was about 4 years old. There are other incidents but that was the first.

All I can hope is that the country puts its arms around this community and families, that compassion and understanding is shown, and that love and peace rise above the darkness.

 

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

