Get Fit A Little Bit

Most would assume that because I am a dancer I am super skinny and uber health conscious. In some aspects I am healthy but in others this is, unfortunately, not the case. While I lead a very very active lifestyle, I do not have as much discipline when it comes to my eating habits. I am super indulgent when it comes to sweets and kind of graze when I am home. Not good. I can say, however, that we have made some really good changes in the last couple of years toward living a healthier lifestyle like getting rid of pop, ditching the fryer, joining an organic food co-op, and juicing. I am slowly cooking with coconut oil more and more, skipping the processed junk, and trying really hard to curb the fast food. But I know I can do better.

Klint is also trying to get healthier and has been running/lifting at work before he starts his shift. So for his birthday I bought him a Fitbit. It is this cool wristband that you wear 24/7, that records your activity levels, calories, and sleep quality. It connects to your smartphone and computer to make inputting information easier and actually looks cool. Fitbit encourages you to walk more, getting in the 10,000 steps recommended by the American Heart Association, and making healthy choices more of a habit.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.cultofandroid.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/fitbit-flex.jpg

Originally I got Klint the Fitbit Flex (shown above) but he missed having a watch on his wrist so he upgraded to the Force and I inherited his Flex, yippee!! I must say that I really like it. Not only is it pretty accurate but it doesn’t bother me to have it on all the time. I like seeing the visual on my phone of my daily water intake (need improvement there), my sleep (awesome!), and my calories (ugh!). I am going to definitely start watching my calories more since I have to put them in!

Anyone else trying to get healthier out there? What are you doing to help yourself along? Any favorite low calorie recipes to share? =)

 

 

What are your thoughts? You know you want to comment!

